•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best binoculars for stargazing absolute beginner around $200?

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 deniamnet

deniamnet

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 October 2020 - 06:02 PM

Hi fellas, so I am going to jump into stargazing journey and looking for a great binoculars around $200. I've read that the magnification must be at least 10x and that the Porro prism is better than the Roof prism. I really like Vortex Crossfire HD 12x50 but it has the roof prism. Any experience with those for stargazing? Which binocs would you recommend? I've also been looking for Celestron Skymaster series but reviews were so-so. Thanks for your input! 

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

Voyager 1

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 19 October 2020 - 06:20 PM

Welcome.

Sky At Night magazine seems to think highly of the Crossfire HD: https://www.skyatnig...-for-astronomy/

• ShaulaB likes this

#3 tony_spina

tony_spina

Gemini

• Loc: So. Cal.

Posted 19 October 2020 - 06:43 PM

The Nikon Action Extreme 10x50 are very popular, and recommended in this forum 

• Jon Isaacs, waynel, Binojunky and 4 others like this

#4 whosthebadman

whosthebadman

Vostok 1

• Loc: upper midwest? upper midbest.

Posted 19 October 2020 - 07:00 PM

Nikon Action Extreme.  I would go with 8x40, or 7x35.  Here is why:

• They are very good daytime AND night sky gear
  • Lightweight, and lower magnitude = less "shakes" = you will see more
  • If astronomy doesn't stick, you still have a very hand all-rounder
  • you'll be under budget

• waynel, Paul Morow and deniamnet like this

#5 deniamnet

deniamnet

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 October 2020 - 08:06 PM

Thanks! Is it smart to go 10x50 or even 12x50? I have read that bigger magnification means closer look of objects.

#6 MartinPond

MartinPond

Fly Me to the Moon