•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How to focus on what you can't see visually

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Kcormier19

Kcormier19

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 October 2020 - 11:47 AM

I am very new to astrophotography, and I am starting on planetary photos while I learn more about both pre and post processing. The other night I had a good seeing night and for fun pointed my C8 telescope with a ZWO asi385 color camera at the ring nebula. (No filters or reducer was used)
When looking through the eyepiece I could see the faint grayish blob that was the nebula and the stars in the eyepiece seemed to be in focus. I then took several 2 minute exposures using Sharpcap but when I looked at them, they were all out of focus. Looking again in the eyepiece, the surrounding stars around the nebula were in focus. So the question is what is the best method to know something is in focus when you cannot really view it visually?

#2 Deesk06

Deesk06

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: New Jersey

Posted 20 October 2020 - 12:02 PM

The focal plane of a camera is going to be different than that of your eye. Not only that but when taking an image it needs to be stable. Any amount of movement will causing it to "blur" and look out of focus, among other things. You would also need to have excellent tracking with added guiding. A 2 minute sub without guiding is going to show trailing etc, especially at the native focal length of 2032mm which is mighty difficult to image with for a beginner(which I am as well). Focus through the camera, not through your eye and that should get you going in the right direction. 

As bob said, I am finding it hard to believe the stars were in focus. They may have seemed in focus but if you compared it to another image that has them in focus then I am sure you would have seen the difference.