•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astigmatism in multiple Meade ACF scopes?

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 mruthjh

mruthjh

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 October 2020 - 05:46 PM

I work at a university and we're setting up equipment for use in astronomy classes. We've purchased several 10" F/8 Meade ACF OTAs. We're seeing what appears to be astigmatism to varying degrees when imaging (I don't think it can be seen through an eyepiece). Some OTAs are worse than others. I'm not an expert on this particular problem, so I'm not sure whether it is astigmatism. Can anyone help us figure out what may be causing this and whether there's a fix? I'd suspect a faulty OTA except that it's not limited to one scope. Screenshots of sections of an image from one of our cameras (ZWO ASI183MM pro) are here. When the camera is rotated, the shape stays with the telescope, so it doesn't seem to be an issue with the camera.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#2 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Cosmos

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 20 October 2020 - 06:11 PM

Yeah... it looks like astig. Would need a lot more info to come to any sort of conclusion. Most useful would be AC interferometry done on the OTAs in the lab.    Tom

#3 jmiller1001

jmiller1001

Ranger 4

• Loc: Bay Area, CA

Posted 20 October 2020 - 06:41 PM

Odd that it would be on multiple scopes...I think...are you using a reducer?

#4 mruthjh

mruthjh

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 October 2020 - 09:03 PM

Thanks. No reducer. We have the camera attached to a flip mirror, but this is out the back of the flip mirror so the mirror is flipped out of the way.

#5 luxo II

luxo II

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted 20 October 2020 - 09:25 PM

Yup astigmatism. Looks like you have a batch of Friday afternoon scopes.