•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question about Canon 40D and astrophotography

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 ROBODOG

ROBODOG

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 22 October 2020 - 07:20 PM

Hello, I am getting a Canon 40D from a friend and was wondering if I would have to modify it or if I can still use it for astrophotography as-is. I will consider modifying later if I have to, I would just like to start using as-is first. Any information about this camera and what I'll be able to do would be greatly appreciated. This would be my first attempt at astro photography and will be learning it with this camera. Total newbie to it. I am currently just a sky viewer. I currently have a LX200 8" EMC and a Genesis 500 non-sdf on an EQ5 mount. Thanks in advance.

The stuff I am getting is as follows:

Canon 40D
Lens: Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM + HOYA UV filter
Lens hood
3x 8GB CF Memory cards
2x batteries
1x charger
Canon Strap
Canon Bag
USB connector cable
S-Video out cable

Edited by ROBODOG, 22 October 2020 - 07:20 PM.

#2 acer88

acer88

Lift Off

• Loc: Greensboro, NC

Posted 22 October 2020 - 08:50 PM

The Canon 40D is perfectly fine as-is for astro imaging, you can mount it to your telescope of use it for widefield. I still have mine for a backup camera in case something happens to my primary DSLR or OSC cameras. I have used it in the past for all my astro imaging and it did a great job. Its a great place to start until you are comfortable and ready to upgrade to a CMOS/CCD. 

• ROBODOG likes this

#3 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

Author

• Vendors
  • Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 22 October 2020 - 10:08 PM