•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moving to Phoenix AZ area and want to do public outreach...

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ScopeJunkie

ScopeJunkie

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Earth (Phoenix and Louisville

Posted 24 October 2020 - 06:15 PM

Hello all.  I live near Louisville KY and will be moving to Phoenix in November for a few months.  I'm bringing all my observing/astrophotography equipment with me and want to do some public outreach.  I have lots of experience doing it with the Louisville Astronomical Society.  I plan on joining the Saguaro Astronomical Society and I'm sure they'll have some type of public outreach/educational program, but maybe not due to the virus issue.  I read that the Lowell Observatory has just reopened their outreach program.  They have scopes set up outside and are using petri dishes to cover the eyepieces, disinfecting between viewers.  I think that's a great idea (I've already purchased some petri dishes. LOL).  I even purchased a ZWO ASI294MC Pro to do live view EAA. That way I avoid any Covid related issues with everyone using the same eyepiece.  I've never done any EAA myself, but I've seen it done at star parties.  I'm looking forward to it.  Any suggestions would be appreciated. 

#2 Sky King

Sky King

Vostok 1

• Loc: Arizona

Posted 24 October 2020 - 07:05 PM

Welcome, here's a thread on live broadcasts you might want to check out. I follow this youtube for EAA, works well here. And welcome to Cloudy Nights!

• maroubra_boy and ScopeJunkie like this

#3 DLuders

DLuders

Soyuz

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 25 October 2020 - 02:03 AM