•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Finding the planet!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 WAskywatcher

WAskywatcher

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pacific Northwest

Posted 26 October 2020 - 12:35 PM

Greetings. I'm new to planet hunting and struggle with probably one of the basic challenges -- finding the planet. GoTo gets close, but with a 4800mm scope and small chip camera, I still spend fruitless time slewing around the sky looking for the needle in the black haystack through a 5' soda straw. What are some tips and best practices for setting up the scope and mount for consistent targeting success. Thanks. 

CC8, 2x Powermate, ASI462, Atlas II Pro EQ mount.

• pinzmann and Kiwi Paul like this

#2 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 26 October 2020 - 12:57 PM

Do the setup as accurately as possible, the better that is the less the error that the scope has to account for. Looking "about level" and "that's about North" just is not good enough.

We seem to just expect a small silicon chip and some software to do it all for us.

Set your own custom location, if not already done so or has the scope GPS?

Other ideas: Goto a nearby significant star, center that and synch the scope to that.

Then goto the planet.

Principle is that if the slew error is say 2% then if you slew across 50 degrees of the sky you can expect to be up to 1 degree out. If you start on a start 2 degrees away then you can expect to be up to 2.4 arcmin out.

But like the "do the setup accurately" it means additional time. And so much seems to be "I want it better, but don't want to put the effort or time into it."