•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Meade ETX-90 M replace motor/controller options?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 foxshark

foxshark

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: 78734

Posted 27 October 2020 - 10:03 PM

I picked up a Meade ETX-90 M in beautiful condition... until I got it home and opened the battery compartment; leaked battery mess everywhere. I cleaned it as well as I could with various ways, still no luck, and then flipped over the circuit board and saw that it was corroded beyond repair.

My background is more in software than hardware, so of course I'm thinking replacing the innards with an Arduino and a stepper motor. However, it does not seem to be all that complicated - is it possible to re-make the hardware as a hobbyist these days? Is it simply a voltage regulator that applies the correct voltage to the DC brushed motor? It would be ideal to keep the motor and reduction gearbox for simplicity and keeping to the original fitment.

#2 scottsdalejohn

scottsdalejohn

Explorer 1

• Loc: Scottsdale, Arizona

Posted 27 October 2020 - 11:24 PM

take a look at OnStep ... Arduino based and all (well most) of the work is already done for you

#3 GreyDay

GreyDay

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Southport UK

Posted 28 October 2020 - 04:33 AM

No end of ETX info here http://www.weasner.c.../techtips.html

#4 John Higbee

John Higbee

Viking 1

• Loc: Virginia

Posted 28 October 2020 - 05:35 AM

Hate to say this, but you may be better off deforking the tube and putting it on a good German equatorial mount.  The ETX-90 mount and its internal drive works (cheaply made and plastic throughout) are as bad as the OTA optics are superb.