•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Which camera is better for Spectrometry?

ccd CMOS imaging astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 odehjas

odehjas

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 October 2020 - 12:37 AM

Hello,

I'm new in spectrometry and I'm using Star Analyzer 100. I have ASI224MC and ASI174MM, which one is better for spectrometry? What about ASI462MC and ASI290MM, is any of them could provide better noticeable results and it is worth buying? 

Also, what is the recommended gain and offset settings for faint stars spectrometry imaging (hence long exposure), is it HDR (Highest Dynamic Range) or UG (Unity Gain) or LNR (Low Read Noise). Thanks.

#2 robin_astro

robin_astro

Apollo

• -----

Posted 28 October 2020 - 11:33 AM

Definitely the mono camera for many reasons. The ASI174MM will be fine with the Star Analyser and I would not buy another camera specially for spectroscopy at this stage. If you do decide at some stage to upgrade, the camera will need to match the spectrograph and would likely be cooled for low noise long exposure performance.

Spectroscopy is just the same as imaging so the settings that work best for astrophotography will work best there also.  (The biggest issues for beginners starting on bright targets is overexposure and poor focus) What telescope are you using and how far will you be mounting the grating (SA100 or 200?) from the camera. The on line calculator can give guidance. For best resolution increase the spacing until the calculator complains

https://www.rspec-as...com/calculator/

Cheers

Robin

Edited by robin_astro, 28 October 2020 - 11:36 AM.

#3 robin_astro

robin_astro

Apollo

• -----

Posted 28 October 2020 - 11:41 AM

For best resolution increase the spacing until the calculator complains