•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Steiner 7x50 Night Hunter binoculars

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Stuart W Johnson

Stuart W Johnson

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 October 2020 - 08:53 PM

I am very new to binoculars. I have the 7x50 night hunters that I bought in the 1990s. Are they considered decent in terms of optical quality?

I don’t think they are made any more. Not sure why.

#2 ShaulaB

ShaulaB

Vanguard

• Loc: Missouri

Posted 28 October 2020 - 09:53 PM

I am not familiar with the brand. But I use 7x50mm Redfield binocs and I enjoy using them. They also are not available to buy new. I guess there is not much of a market for this combination of magnification and aperture.

#3 DeanD

DeanD

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: South Australia

Posted 28 October 2020 - 10:21 PM

Steiner have a pretty good reputation. The Nighthunter series seems to be their mid-range with nice sharp optics, and they still sell Nighthunter 8x30 (although I don't understand why these are called "Nighthunter" as their exit pupil is too small) and 8x56 binos. I suspect their Commander 7x50 has replaced the Nighthunter 7x50's: they have a slightly wider fov. 

An easy way to test their quality is to aim them at the moon, and see how it looks in terms of contrast and sharpness. Good binos will be sharp in the centre of the field, showing good contrast and not much if any CA, and the field should not be too washed out with no ghost images. Very few binos will be sharp to the edge, but if the central 2/3 or so of the field is sharp then it indicates they are good quality.