•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Stars not round at corners

astrophotography beginner
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Moorefam

Moorefam

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 October 2020 - 08:25 AM

I am fairly new to astrophotography and been at it about 6 months.

I use an 8 inch 1000mm F.L. Skywatcher reflector, with an AZ-EQ6 pro mount on a Skywatcher pillar resting on a concrete patio. Strangely the pillar moves a little from the vertical after a few days and needs resetting. This requires new polar alignment which I think I am doing properly. After polar alignment Polaris is near the top of the frame which is puzzling? I have checked for cone error and can't see any but as I said I haven't been doing this long so have an awful lot to learn.

I also use a Baader MPCC Mk III coma corrector and Sony A7 III full frame camera with MGEN III auto tracking with a 60mm guide scope and attached is a  sub of 2 mins duration. It just shows the corners and centre.   The stars at centre are round but not at the corners  and they differ at each corner. I rotated the camera 90 degrees with no change. The focusser looks square to the scope. Everything seems tight and I am pleased with my results but not near the corners. The sub was taken on a windless night.

Basically I am scratching my head as to what the problem is and any help would be much appreciated. I hope the attachment comes out OK.

_DSC6930_4 corners centre_2.jpg   

#2 PirateMike

PirateMike

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: A Green Dot On A Blue Sea

Posted 29 October 2020 - 08:46 AM

There must be a million threads here about flattening the field for AP which is what you need to do to get round star in the corners. I'm sure a quick search will provide you with more than enough information.