•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

RASA Exposure Length

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MountainAir

MountainAir

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 31 October 2020 - 01:33 PM

I'm having difficulties with a RASA 11 V2: even smaller stars seem to be clipping.

I'm new to the RASA, and I'm still trying to get a feel for her.  I started by using the fantastic Celestron RASA LPR filter and an ASI294MC-Pro.  The filter was not very necessary at my dark-sky site (Bortle 4), and it physically interferes with the flatness of my image train when using the Baader UFC system, so I removed it.  I also switched to the ASI183MC-Pro.  I feel like both these changes were a step in the wrong direction:  I'm letting in more light (30s exposures vs 3m), and the full-well depth of the ASI183MC-Pro is only 15k.

After astronomical darkness settles, I run through the SharpCap Smart Histogram feature to estimate the subframe exposure length and gain for a 5-hour set.  I typically get around Gain 120 and 31 seconds, which I round to my standard settings of Gain 139 and 30 seconds (I know, that's not linear for both settings but G139_30s is what's in my dark library).

That has been yielding frames where many stars are clipping (as seen in PixInsight after stacking).  See attached.

Test.jpg

Ordinarily I would reduce exposure length and/or gain... but something strange, I seem to loose more of the nebulosity than I save in terms of star clipping.  I need to play more with this.

I'm wondering what the best course of action is.

• I could switch back to the ASI294MC-Pro, but it's under sampled with this OTA.
  • I could find a new camera, but Santa isn't likely to bring me an ASI6200MC-Pro, and I like my kidneys.