•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First two eyepieces for a 10" f4.7 Orion XT10 dobsonian

• Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 ForTozs

ForTozs

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Ocean Springs, MS

Posted 14 November 2020 - 01:35 AM

I just purchased my first Dobsonian scope, and it is quite the upgrade from my old Celestron 90 mm refractor. Let me start off by saying I am not very experienced in skywatching and the equipment involved. My Orion XT10 dobsonian came with the 25mm Orion Sirius Plossl eyepiece. First impression is that this eyepiece certainly finds alot of objects, but planets are a pretty small and DSOs don't resolve well in my relatively light-polluted neighborhood. Also, the field-of-view makes finding objects that aren't visible to my naked eye a bit tedious. I am yet to take it to dark skies, but I just got it yesterday. I will be spending most of my time with it in my backyard, but plan to take it to dark skies occasionally. As far as how I approach my purchases, I lean toward the "buy-once" mentality, although I do think a nicer scope may be in my future in a few years (perhaps a nice refractor).