•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Redcat 51 LX vs Radian Raptor 61

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 elginroad87

elginroad87

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 November 2020 - 06:19 PM

Hi, I am new to Astrophotography and am looking to purchase my first imaging scope to pair with ZWO 1600mm-Pro. I have shortlisted the newer version of RedCat 51 and Radian Raptor 61 as the final two. I was wondering if anyone would have any recommendations as to which scope would be a better buy. I am mostly interested in imaging DSO. Thanks in advance.

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 15 November 2020 - 06:28 PM

Also, consider the Sharpstar 61EDPH-II, which is basically the underlying scope of the Raptor.  Radian Raptor is a "nicer" package, especially its mounting rings, but the scope $300 more and is made by Sharpstar.

#3 elginroad87

elginroad87

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 November 2020 - 06:32 PM

Thanks, SilverLitz for responding. I think I saw that other post where this topic has been discussed in great details. For now, I am just looking for some guidance on these two scopes.

#4 wizer

wizer

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: SoCal, USA

Posted 15 November 2020 - 06:33 PM

What mount will this go on?

Both of the scopes you listed will be very wide field, and easy to learn on. Yet for the same price range you could also consider 80mm range scopes (without a reducer though).

#5 elginroad87

elginroad87

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 November 2020 - 06:38 PM

This is for ZWO ASI1600mm-Pro, which I believe has a crop factor of 2? Would these still be wide field? Also, any specific 80mm scopes you had in mind? I am looking for something that is travel-friendly.

#6 wizer

wizer

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 15 November 2020 - 06:40 PM