•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Comparing high-end imaging refractors under 65 mm

astrophotography dslr refractor
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Neubadger

Neubadger

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 November 2020 - 11:05 PM

I've spent quite a bit of time searching and reading the forums here on CN over the past many months, but despite many overlapping threads, it seemed like this was worth a post.

I'm pretty new to astrophotography, having only taken constellation and Milky Way landscape shots with DSLRs (APS-C and FF) and a tripod.  I'm working on a more DSO-capable grab-and-go setup as my next step in what I'm intending to be a lifelong hobby.  Right now I'm (very patiently) shopping for an optically excellent refractor that's lightweight enough to use in an imaging setup on a Star Adventurer.  Along with home use and car-based dark sky trips, I'd like to bring this setup on backpacking trips without power, so while I'll dive into astro cameras and auto-guiding eventually, they're off my radar for the moment.  I also want to be able to use the scope for visual astronomy, knowing that aperture will be more limiting here.  Price is almost a non-factor, but I do have one price-related concern that I'll mention below.  I'm looking for direct comparisons if possible, but suggestions, experience, and clarifications are welcome.  Here are my top contenders so far, but feel free to tear them apart and/or suggest your own.  We Wisconsinites have thick skin.