•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Binoculars vs telescope? Need help with buying.

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 johnsuomi

johnsuomi

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 November 2020 - 08:21 AM

Hello, all

I am a newbie in your world from Finland and I am here to get some help in buying either a telescope or binocular.

I am totally a layman and have no idea what does 8x42 or 10-22×50 or 25x100 binocular means. All I know is that I need an equipment for terrestrial viewing, preferably that works well under low lighting.

The objects for example can be at distance of about 300 meters, what would be the best way to get a good view of the objects? According to my research binoculars would be best but then I am not sure which one or would it give good field of view? How about a medium power telescope, would that serve the purpose for objects under 500meters?

Thank you so much for your time and I am looking forward for your humble opinions.

Regards, 

John

#2 lee14

lee14

Apollo

• Loc: CNY

Posted 22 November 2020 - 08:44 AM

The first number is the magnification, the second is the aperture, or diameter of the lens. The larger the aperture, the greater the light gathering ability, i.e. the fainter the object that can be seen. Greater magnification and larger aperture also make hand held viewing increasingly difficult. The advantage of a telescope over binoculars is that the magnification is easily altered by changing the eyepiece. 

Lee

#3 johnsuomi

johnsuomi

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 November 2020 - 08:49 AM