•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Using an st80 as a guide scope on a c8?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 tomwall

tomwall

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Arizona, USA

Posted 22 November 2020 - 11:06 AM

I want to use my st80 as a guide scope for my c8.

Does anyone have any advice on how to do this? 

Thanks!

#2 Jim R

Jim R

Mariner 2

Posted 22 November 2020 - 11:35 AM

I am not an expert. I think probably doable, but OAG better?
  • tomwall likes this

#3 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

World Controller

• Moderators
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 22 November 2020 - 11:39 AM

I agree,  you are probably going to do better with an OAG for a SCT, given the possibility of mirror flop even if you have the ST80 rigidly mounted on the C8.

• tomwall likes this

#4 wrvond

wrvond

Vanguard

• Loc: West Virginia

Posted 22 November 2020 - 11:48 AM

IMG_3828sm.JPG

• tomwall and ram812 like this

#5 tomwall

tomwall

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 22 November 2020 - 02:34 PM

I do have an old OAG I can try. I may do that. My hope with mounting the st80 is that I'd have a dual scope setup. The st80 could do wide field and the c8 could do smaller targets. I'm running on a CGEM, so weight shouldn't be too much of an issue. I do agree that the OAG would end up giving me better guiding, but I'm just starting AP and don't want to bite off more than I can chew.

BTW: Those rings would offer me the adjustability I'm looking for. I'm currently running the st80 off of a piggy back camera mount on the rear of the c8. This doesn't allow me to accurately align the two scopes. 

Thanks! :-)

#6 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

World Controller

• Moderators

Posted 22 November 2020 - 03:41 PM