•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Have you ever had one of those nights?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 MyBluOx

MyBluOx

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 November 2020 - 12:51 PM

As the topic states, last night was one of those nights.

First of all I consider myself an absolute beginner. I've been deep sky imaging for about 4 years off and on. the off is when I have equipment problems. The last equipment problem was the power panel for my LX200gps which took over a year to get due to supply problems. So being that I'm getting older and forgetful I have to relearn everything.

I'm currently working on imaging NGC 2359, Thor's Helmet. my first set of data was 27x600s subs. Thor's Helmet is very dim; so I didn't think I had enough data. I decided to try taking 1200s subs last night. Since it doesn't rise high enough for imaging until around 12am local, I started at 11:30pm.  I start by getting close and plate solve using AstroTortilla. I noticed that my 30s subs for plate solving weren't working. the stars were to dim. Since I was low in the sky I just figured it was the sky glow from Tucson and waited a while to try again. Still did not work. I decided to raise the scope a little and try again. after 2 more try's it worked and I got synced up. I align on the target  setup MaximDL to get the subs. I go to set up guiding using the off-axis guider with my SBIG STi camera. Normally  I use 2-3 second subs to guide with; but I couldn't find a good guide star. This worked the previous night with just 2 second subs. I wondering what is wrong. Am I that forgetful that I missed something or did something wrong. I try 4 second subs and still no good guide star. Am I in the wrong location? I compared a 60s sub of the imaging camera and a sub from the previous night. I have the right alignment.