•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Spotting scope - is this normal?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Stuart W Johnson

Stuart W Johnson

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 November 2020 - 04:30 PM

I am still learning about binoculars and optics. I just purchased a brand new Meopta Meopro 80 spotting scope. It is 20-60x80.

Are my expectations correct?

On 20x, it has a good clear image. Still not as good as my Canon 10x42L binoculars. But good. As I range to 30x, 40x, and so on, the image becomes dimmer and less defined. I know this is because the exit pupil is shrinking. However, it seems like anything above 30x is not really even useable. I’m not sure why there is even an option to choose 60x.

Is this normal? I think it is supposed to be a decent scope. I’m just scratching my head because it really doesn’t offer much improvement over a good set of binoculars.
  • daniel_h likes this

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

Voyager 1

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 22 November 2020 - 04:50 PM

Depending on weather and viewing distance it may just be atmospheric turbulence.

Or it may be defective.

#3 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 22 November 2020 - 04:52 PM

Unfortunately Yes.

People buy on those numbers, and the bigger the number the more they draw people in.

I would said 6-20x would be a lot more useful.

Would have thought Meopta would have been better, but seems not.

Does take a lot to better good 8x42's and 10x42's. Rather unfortunately there is this idea that astromony needs optics with impressive numbers, the quality comes later, maybe.

• ch2co likes this

#4 Erik Bakker

Erik Bakker

Cosmos

• Moderators
  • Loc: Netherlands, Europe

Posted 22 November 2020 - 04:56 PM