•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Nikon Aculon 7x50 first light

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Notoriousnick

Notoriousnick

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Adelaide, South Australia

Posted 24 November 2020 - 09:35 AM

I should say right from the start, that as far as binoculars go - I'm a complete newbie. So these brief thoughts are just my first impressions of using these particular bino's and I guess, bino's in general. I don't have experience with any others for comparison other than some briefly used, horrible quality ones.

In fact, I've probably done things the wrong way around! That is, I started with a telescope and only now, years later acquired this pair of binoculars.

Why 7x50 instead of the 10x50 version of the Aculon? After scouring through all possible threads here (thank you!) it seemed that despite the narrower FOV (TFOV=6.4*, AFOV=42.7*) these binoculars are quite good (in my view) because they are sharp/flat, edge to edge. Furthermore, their main purpose for me, was to help get a different perspective on the night sky and perhaps also look at those things that can't be viewed as a whole when using my Dob. The plan was not to eek every detail out of DSOs. I felt that higher magnification was unnecessary as that is what my telescope is for. Additionally, using only 7x magnification allows me to hold the bino's (more) steady. In the future, well, who knows, I might end up with a collection of these things.

While I can't confirm that my pupils dilate to 7mm (I'm 60), I do see quite well in the dark and feel that the exit pupil of these bin's is likely not to be too large for me. Not scientific judgement, I know, but I'm running with it laugh.gif. There is also the notion that with the larger exit pupil, the bino's may be more comfortable to use during the day.