•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Orion XT8G too much for a newbie?

• Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 Austin Maggie

Austin Maggie

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Frackville, PA USA

Posted 25 November 2020 - 03:59 PM

Hello guys and gals. Total newbie here. Since my soon to be 9 year old daughter seems to be interested in space, (and I always have but never had the time to take up the hobby), I am considering a telescope for her and myself. My budget was the $400-$700 area. After looking at many (and many more) reviews, and after further confusion, I have almost pulled the trigger on a Orion XT8G. I realize it is about $500 over budget, but with the goto feature and the better overall optics I think it may have a better chance at keeping her interest rather than just using it a few times and done. I realize this is a pretty big purchase, but I have also always wanted a telescope. I find space fascinating, and this would be a great tool for spending some quality time with my daughter and for a general learning experience for the family. If she loses interest it wouldn't be a total waste because I know I would continue to use it. I am naturally going to purchase the dc power supply. In addition I am considering the Orion 08890 1.25" lens accessory kit. I realize the XT8G comes equipped to take 2" eyepieces, but this kit seems affordable. (Please let me know if it is worth it, or should the stock eyepieces be enough for now?) Is there anything else needed (laser collimator...,?), or will this be all that I have to buy? Does this entire purchase seem reasonable for a newbie, or should I be looking at a cheaper setup? Thanks in advance.

#2 Austin Maggie

Austin Maggie

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 November 2020 - 04:00 PM

Just a note, I am located in the east central part of PA.