•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Are SF worth the extra £££'s

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Hayballs

Hayballs

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: 56.9637° N, 2.2093° W

Posted 26 November 2020 - 04:13 AM

Hello everyone,

Debut appearance here on Cloudy Nights  waytogo.gif

I'm wondering if SF binoculars are worth the extra cost over 'ordinary' binoculars?

A little background for you........

I've been stargazing now for about 14 months and think it's about time that I upgraded to a better pair of binoculars. At the moment I have only been using what was in the house. I bought a pair of Bresser 8x40 Field Glasses about 25 years ago just for general use. I also have a Wingspan 12x50 Manocular which I bought a couple of years ago primarily to take to golf tournaments and other sporting events.
I have no complaints about either of these, as they have both opened up the sky to me. Apart from the magnification factor, the one major difference is the FOV, where at this time in the sky, the Bresser's show both Saturn and Jupiter in view, whereas the Manocular only shows one of the planets. (I live in the North East of Scotland)

Reading 'hundreds' of on-line reviews, I think I have discovered bit of brand loyalty to Bresser and like these two models:-

Bresser Spezial Astro SF 15x70

Bresser Spezial Astro 20x80

There is a price difference of over £100 between these two models so I'm wondering if it's will be worth the extra cost?

This will be a longtime 'investment' so would be happy to cough up the extra dosh.

Budget would be £300 absolute maximum and any other suggestions are welcome.

Celestron: a bit like marmite........... some like............ some loathe

Helios Stellar II: Seem OK

Opticron Pro: a little above budget maybe 

Cheers the now and look forward to hearing from you.

Hayballs