•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescope Recommendation

ATM beginner equipment observing planet
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 newbuddy

newbuddy

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 November 2020 - 05:55 AM

Hi Friends, I am a newbie in star gazing and was looking at buying a starter telescope. My expectation is mainly to observe planets (Jupiter band, Saturn rings, etc.) and also if possible a few deep space cosmos.

Based on my budget, I have short-listed the following:

1. Meade Telescope Infinity AC 70/700 AZ

2. Omegon Telescope AC 70/700 AZ-2

3. Skywatcher Mercury 707 70mm/700mm AZ-2

4. Celestron Telescope AC 70/900 Astromaster 70 AZ

5. Bresser Telescope AC 70/900 Sirius AZ-1

As far as I understand, (1) 70/900 would better suit my requirements (compared to 70/700), and (2) AZ mount is better than EQ for beginners.

I would really like to hear your suggestions and recommendations on which of the above would be the best to purchase in terms of optical clarity and viewing experience. Also, should I go for 2x Barlow or 3x Barlow lens?

Thanks a lot for you help!

• Sky Muse likes this

#2 phillip

phillip

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Sterling, Illinois

Posted 27 November 2020 - 06:32 AM

I actually started my Jr years with that size, mine had decent optics as a Swift refractor so many years ago.

They are fun, will see banding on Jupiter and it's 4 moon shuttle back and forth. Saturn nice but detailed division in ring a challenge that size of scope. 

Don't recall seeing much detail in deep sky, tho brighter ones detected. As need aperature to capture on these dimmer objects.

Will be a nice starter. But later if the hobby grabs your attention you will get into more decent size.