•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Chipped Secondary Mirror on a Celestron Astromaster 130eq?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 SarahW

SarahW

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 November 2020 - 11:22 AM

Secondary
Album: Damage
1 images
1 comments

Total newbie. My husband and I just purchased our first scope (new)--a Celestron Astromaster 130eq. I found that it was difficult to get a "full" view through the scope, with a portion of the view seeming to eclipse. Upon inspection inside, I found that the secondary mirror doesn't appear to be centered down the focuser, but beyond that, I noticed a small chip on the edge of the secondary mirror. Is that normal? Is it going to affect performance? Again--complete newbie so I have no idea about these things. Should I contact the company I purchased through and get a replacement/return?

Thank you for your help.

Edited by SarahW, 28 November 2020 - 11:25 AM.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#2 cuzimthedad

cuzimthedad

Just Be Cuz

• Moderators
  • Loc: Nampa, ID

Posted 28 November 2020 - 11:50 AM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights SarahW! There are plenty of members on the forum who will be able to walk you through the steps of getting your new scope up and running properly. I just wanted to chime in and say hi and welcome.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#3 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Voyager 1

Posted 28 November 2020 - 12:14 PM

That chip is dwarfed by the mirror clip. I personally wouldn’t worry about it. I mean if I bought a $2,000 scope then it potentially becomes a resale value thing, but this isn’t a $2,000 scope.

Scott
  • Jon Isaacs and SteveG like this

#4 SarahW

SarahW

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 November 2020 - 02:05 PM