•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Color vs Mono ccd question.

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 EdwardMH

EdwardMH

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Battlefield, Mo

Posted 28 November 2020 - 01:25 PM

I am a beginner amateur astrophotographer but a thought hit me this afternoon. I know mono cameras collect more details than color due to the color ccd Bayer-Filter array. My thought came from TV’s rgb emitters getting smaller and smaller from 720, 1080, 4K, 8K and even 16K... Couldn’t that shrinking work with color ccd chips and make them 2-4x smaller than the Mono equivalent thereby making them more sensitive to smaller details? Or would the smaller sizes absorb less light? Would it work if they found a naturally more light sensitive ccd material?

And also what is the detail difference between a color CCD and a mono used with rgb filter wheels? Does the pure mono no filters still gather more details than a mono with filter wheel?

Sorry if this was a dumb thought.

#2 kathyastro

kathyastro

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 28 November 2020 - 01:43 PM

The sensor chips are the same in mono and OSC (colour) cameras.  Smaller sensors gather less light.

An OSC camera has a filter over each pixel sensor.  In each group of four pixels, one has a red filter, two have green filters and one has a blue filter.  Each pixel only records the colour of its sensor.  The other two colours for that pixel are calculated by interpolating from neighbouring pixels.  The interpolation is pretty good, so it's not like you are getting a full 67% reduction in resolution, but there is a loss of actual data.  The mono camera using the same sensor uses every pixel for every colour.  There is no interpolation: all the colour data is actual sensed data.