•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

2" low mag eyepiece for XT8

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Enceladust

Enceladust

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Arlington TX

Posted 01 December 2020 - 04:33 PM

Hello all, this is my first post.

I am new to this. I have acquired an orion XT8 with two 1.25" EPs (10mm, 25mm). The first thing I would like to invest in would be a decent 2" eyepiece. I have been doing some reading and it appears that a Q70 / Agena SWA 32 mm would seem like a good choice. The price also seems reasonable; I am not quite ready for multi-hundred dollars EPs yet. Would you agree with this pick? What else would you recommend in that focal length vicinity and price range (I am flexible).

Also, if you think you have something for sale you think I might be interested in, obviously I am interested to hear about it since I cannot post in the classified section for 30 days!

Thank you!!

• Defenderslideguitar likes this

#2 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Voyager 1

Posted 01 December 2020 - 04:49 PM

You won’t beat it for the price. There will be distortion near the edge of the field but you have to pay over twice as much to correct that.

It should be a good fit from an exit pupil perspective and maximizing the field of view without vignetting becoming an issue.

Scott
  • SteveG, spaceoddity and havasman like this

#3 Bean614

Bean614

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Mass.

Posted 01 December 2020 - 04:54 PM

Those are basically identical, and very good choices for that scope!  Your Dob is an f/6, so it's more forgiving of less expensive eyepieces than faster scopes. You'll hardly notice the small bit of distortion near the edge.

• Jon Isaacs, Defenderslideguitar and 25585 like this

#4 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Voyager 1

Posted 01 December 2020 - 05:48 PM