•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner questions about calibration frames

beginner astrophotography CMOS imaging
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jlecomte

jlecomte

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: San Jose, CA, USA

Posted 03 December 2020 - 12:50 AM

Hi,

I am a total beginner when it comes to astrophotography, so these questions will probably make you roll your eyes grin.gif. Please, bear with me.

First, a little bit of context:

- At a high level, I understand the concept of image calibration and the need for darks, flats, flat darks, etc., although it's been only theoretical at this point... I learned about calibration by reading the excellent "The Deep Sky Imaging Primer" book.

- I have a ZWO ASI 533MC Pro on order. It should arrive (hopefully) before the end of the year.

Now, here are a few questions regarding calibration frames:

1) Bias frames and modern CMOS cameras:

I read somewhere that many people forego bias frames all together with these new CMOS cameras due to their extremely low read noise. Is this accurate? Or am I misunderstanding something? Not having to worry about yet another type of calibration frame would sure help to simplify the entire processing workflow!

2) Dark frames: