•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Milky Way in Cygnus

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Alex65

Alex65

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 December 2020 - 06:20 AM

As winter approaches we say "good bye" to the summer and autumnal constellations.

Yesterday evening I thought that I'd try capturing some of the Milky Way going through Cygnus and, using a simply digital camera (Canon G9X) on a tripod, took this image. While not the best photo ever taken and quite 'noisy', it does show the Milky Way passing through Cygnus along with the dark dust clouds, such as the Coal Sack. To the left of Deneb the North America Nebula (NGC 7000) is also just visible. Though I have taken 'star shots' before, this is my first attempt at a more detailed astro image.

IMG_8143 (1024x781).jpg

• paulsky, Illinois, payner and 9 others like this

#2 alder1

alder1

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 04 December 2020 - 06:29 AM

Lovely picture, thanks!
  • Alex65 and Borodog like this

#3 Sheol

Sheol

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 04 December 2020 - 07:36 PM

Thanks for the picture as well. However, its time to get ready for the Winter Milky Way. Yes, not quite as good as the center of our home Galaxy, but still, a lot still to be seen.

Matt.

• Alex65 likes this

#4 Rocklobster

Rocklobster

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Biggin Hill, Greater London, Bortle 6

Posted 02 January 2021 - 11:48 PM

Living in the UK, one can't expect great views of the galactic core, even at the optimal month.

Cygnus and Scutum (for a few months) are as good as it gets.

Fortunately, I absolutely love Cygnus. After Orion, it's my favourite constellation.

Here is a shot of the milky way and Cygnus taken from a Bortle 2 spot near Glencoe, Scotland this past autumn.

Can you pick out Cygnus?