•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Daytime infrared speculation

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 GSBass

GSBass

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: South Carolina

Posted 04 December 2020 - 08:42 AM

I am not experienced enough to know for sure what’s going on but wanted to share my thoughts on daytime infrared since I’ve tried it several times since taking the image below shortly after getting the 462c, the main thing I noticed is after setting up in daytime and taking a few shots, after nightfall there is a pretty huge difference in exposure/gain on the exact same area of the moon, speculate your compensating for ir glow... but it does not seem to affect resolution. I bring this up because in post processing daytime infrared is actually easier to bring out shadows without blowing highlights, not enough people doing these to really get a firm grip but it is interesting and different. I guess overtime if I do more setups just before dark and do side by side comparisons I can pinpoint advantages or disadvantages

Attached Thumbnails

• 57633393-CF3B-4DC1-969B-A86D460F4644.jpeg

• rodrake, Kenny V., John Gauvreau and 6 others like this

#2 spereira

spereira

Aurora

• Moderators
  • Loc: Bedford, NH

Posted 04 December 2020 - 09:03 AM

Moving to Lunar Observing & Imaging.

smp

• John_Moore likes this

#3 Borodog

Borodog

Apollo

• -----

Posted 04 December 2020 - 10:03 AM

That is a beautifully sharp shot.

#4 GSBass

GSBass

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 December 2020 - 02:50 PM

Thanks, I expected night shots to be better but so far I like my daytime shots better

That is a beautifully sharp shot.

#5 Tom Glenn

Tom Glenn

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 04 December 2020 - 04:04 PM