•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQ2 Mount - Do I need a counterweight?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 NeoMoses

NeoMoses

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 December 2020 - 11:40 AM

I am a newbie and just picked up a used Celestron Firstscope 114EQ for $90.  I'm trying to get into the hobby for a minimum cost to try it out, then maybe pick up a nicer scope later.  My first look through this scope is promising.  However, with this being a used scope, it was missing the counterweight shaft and weights when I got it.  I've been researching a ton and trying to figure out how to use this, but one thing I'm wondering is, do I NEED the counterweights?  I'm pretty sure I need them if I want to polar align the mount, because it falls down when I have it in a rough alignment right now.

However...  I have been able to manually adjust/point the scope and it seems to be working OK at the moment, just not really taking advantage of the EQ mount.  Below is a quick pic of my scope, I'll try to get a better pic of the mount but I'm pretty sure it's an EQ-2 from the descriptions I've read.  

I think I've figured out that I need a 12mm smooth shaft, likely with an M10 thread.  I can't find anything used that fits the bill without spending at least $40-$50.  Right now, the cheapest option looks to be buying a second used scope and using components from that.  If not that, I'll probably try to find some M10 threaded rod and make my own counterweight shaft and counterweights.  I'm guessing I could do that in the $10-$20 range.

First real question:  will I do any damage to the mount if the scope isn't balanced?

Second question:  without any drive motors, is there a large benefit to polar align a scope?  Or should I just keep manually pointing it at targets without worrying about polar alignment?

Thanks for the help!