•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astro Works Project

• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 martinontheroad

martinontheroad

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 02 January 2021 - 11:46 AM

All - I am new to Cloudy Nights, and am hoping I can obtain some guidance on a potential scope refurbishment. A gent has an old Astro Works scope for sale. The pictures show it to be at least a 12” beast. I’ve done a bit of digging on the internet, and it looks like they were great back in the day. Jim Riffle must be a great engineer. However, the sheer mass of this item alone is quite daunting, much less checking out the optics and the controller. If it is really a good scope, I’d hate to see it tossed out or sold for scrap, if someone out there hs the ability to resurrect it. I have no connection to this other than interest. If this is the wrong place to post such an item, I apologize in advance.

https://www.facebook...97607897379556/
  • Bomber Bob, Defenderslideguitar, Volvonium and 1 other like this

#2 Russell Smith

Russell Smith

Surveyor 1

• Loc: 76707

Posted 02 January 2021 - 11:52 AM

Welcome to cloudy nights.
Grab it. Run don't walk.
Russ
  • pbealo, JoeVanGeaux, ianatcn and 7 others like this

#3 Defenderslideguitar

Defenderslideguitar

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Connecticut

Posted 02 January 2021 - 12:15 PM

Welcome to cloudy nights    you have come to the right place    I cannot see the ad myself as I do not do MyFace or Spacebook    but if the price is right   there is no reason not to go get it and make it a project for this long winter...…...unless it just takes up to much space and also becomes an object to hang coats and tools on  I would think

• mdowns and martinontheroad like this

#4 starman876

starman876

Nihon Seiko

• Vendors
  • Loc: VA

Posted 02 January 2021 - 01:54 PM