•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Deep Sky Imaging with a 180 Maksutov Cassegrain

astrophotography Orion observing eyepieces double star cassegrain accessories catadioptric imaging Maksutov
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 HotRod217

HotRod217

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 January 2021 - 04:03 PM

Hello everyone, 

I am planning to get the Orion 180 mm Maksutov-Cassegrain telescope. Is it possible to image or see brighter deep sky objects by using a focal reducer? It's has a focal length of 2700mm and a focal ratio of f/15.0.

#2 JEPott

JEPott

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Asheville, NC

Posted 05 January 2021 - 04:09 PM

I can't say to much on this as I am still new to AP but I do know that you will need a lot more acquisition time to get good results as this is an f/15.0 scope... but it should be possible.

#3 Bean614

Bean614

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Mass.

Posted 05 January 2021 - 04:15 PM

You can 'see' LOTS of DSO's with a 7 inch Mak!

#4 Eric Seavey

Eric Seavey

Viking 1

• Loc: Irvine, California

Posted 05 January 2021 - 04:16 PM

It is a good scope for small bright targets such as planets and small bright planetary nebulae (Blue Snowball or Saturn Nebula).  Although, larger aperture will resolve more detail with a SCT such as a Celestron C8, C9.25 or C11, or Meade LX200 ACF scopes. 

#5 photoracer18

photoracer18

Soyuz

• Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Posted 05 January 2021 - 04:40 PM