•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Film Advance in Cold (OM-1n)

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 ???

???

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 January 2021 - 01:08 AM

I've been shooting film for a long time but I'm new to film AP. A couple of hours into the winter nights, I've noticed that the film advance lever on my OM-1n seems to lose its resistance as I crank it. I'm not sure it's advancing the film at all. It feels like the mechanism isn't engaging and the lever is almost swinging freely, though sometimes it seems I feel the film winding towards the end of the motion. It works fine when it's back at room temperature. Does anyone know what could be causing this? I'm thinking about getting a motor drive attachment and just bypassing the whole lever. 

#2 Michal1

Michal1

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Czech Republic, Central Europe

Posted 16 January 2021 - 05:15 AM

I have never experienced this, but I don't have an Olympus. In cold, film advancing gets rather tough, as the greases in the mechanisms get tough. I'd rather say that you haven't loaded the film properly. You can try a few things to figure out what is happening.

1) Take a photo at the room temperature. Does the lever give you the right amount of resistance?

2) Go to a totally dark place (covering yourself with a blanket can be helpful if you don't have such a place), open the camera door, touch the edge of the film with one hand and advance the film lever with the other hand. Can you feel that the film is moving?

3)  Write down the the number of the film frame you are currently at. Rewind the film to the original spool and load the film again. Then go to a dark place, leave the camera lens covered and take photos until you get to the original film frame number.

#3 ???

???

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter