•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Testing out DSS, Nikon D7000, and Nexstar 8SE

dslr Celestron SCT
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Lasko

Lasko

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 16 January 2021 - 04:30 PM

Greetings,

I'm totally new to this but have been intrigued by the idea of using multiple frames with DSS.  After reading a lot of threads and suggestions I finally did a test run to see if I could get anything to work at all.  I would call it mostly successful and I learned some more in the process.  I decided on M42 since it was easy to frame in live view and I ended up taking 42 light frames (not intentionally).  

I used 15s frames which I think now is too long for the 8SE since about 75% of them were rejects due to doubling or football shaped stars.  DSS deemed that 11 frames were usable so I let it build what it wanted, also with 15 black/flat/offset.  I'm also super basic at editing through Gimp and have been trying to learn different techniques on Youtube.  

Attached is what I came up with.  For 11 frames I thought not great, not terrible.  lol.gif  I'm hoping to try again today with 8s or 10s frames and hopefully a lot more usable ones.

Autosave003.jpg

• StarBurger likes this

#2 AgilityGuy

AgilityGuy

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Northern CA

Posted 16 January 2021 - 07:31 PM

It looks really good for a first try. Your focus and exposure time looks really good.

#3 Lasko

Lasko

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 January 2021 - 09:29 PM

Thanks for the feedback.  Looking pretty nice out tonight so everything is set up and tracking.  Hopefully I will have an improved version to share tomorrow.

#4 Lasko

Lasko

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 January 2021 - 03:44 PM