•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First scope - Tak Star Base 80_upgrades?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 elfowl

elfowl

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 January 2021 - 06:02 PM

First post here on Cloudy Nights-

I am just getting into the hobby of visual observing and have been using loaner scopes from my local astronomy club for the past year. I had the opportunity to purchase a Star Base 80 (80 mm, 800 mm focal length) from one of the members for $100, so I went for it, being on a limited budget and wanting a lightweight scope I can use in my backyard. He has also loaned me a Televue Tele-Pod mount/tripod to use for the next year.

I am looking for suggestions about possible upgrades to make the most of this scope. My location is Bortle 8, with occasional travel to darker skies on vacation, so primary goal is to view planets, moon, double stars and easy to access dark sky objects. The upgrades will need to occur over time due to budget constraints, so part of what I am looking for is what to consider doing first, second, etc. I wear glasses and have astigmatism, so eye relief on eyepieces is really important.

Current equipment:

Star Base 80 OTA, stock rings and single-speed focuser

TV tele-pod mount

Telerad finder

Star Base 90 degree mirror diagonal (1.25")

40mm Celestron plossl (given to me by guy who sold the scope)

26mm Meade super plossl (given to me by guy who sold the scope)

14mm orthoscopic (came with scope)

6mm orthoscopic (came with scope)

8-24 mm Agena Starguider zoom (gift)

I really appreciate any input others have to maximize this set-up. I am aware the gains to be made will be limited by the light pollution I have to deal with and having a small aperture scope, but this type of set up works best for me given other factors.

Thanks for your time-

Cindy

#2 ShaulaB