•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Lens Filters

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 norwaystar06

norwaystar06

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 January 2021 - 01:47 AM

Hello Photogs!

I am a long time photographer and decided to finally take the deep dive into deep space astrophotography. I am using a Canon 5D mk IV and various telephoto lenses to capture a few images. However I understand after watching endless amount of Astrobackyard and Peter Zelinka that a LP filter is necessary. So far all I can find are 2" or 1" filters for telescopes and the clip in for various cameras, however unfortunately it seems the new generation Canons are not compatible. So i was wondering if there are any good light pollution filters out there for the traditional method of screwing on at the end of the lens. I found a few but they seem to have poor reviews or there is no significant difference. Thank you for your help!

#2 Cfreerksen

Cfreerksen

Apollo

• Loc: Tooele, Ut

Posted 17 January 2021 - 01:59 AM

Maybe try here. But these are clip in. You probably don't want it where it can get damaged anyway at these prices.

https://www.astronom...tml?___store=en

Chris

Edited by Cfreerksen, 17 January 2021 - 02:02 AM.

#3 2ghouls

2ghouls

Apollo

Posted 17 January 2021 - 09:10 AM

How dark are your skies? Not having a light pollution filter is no reason not to start astrophotography in my opinion. The main thing they do is change color balance by cutting out a lot of green/yellow, which can be helpful for making red nebulae pop, but I would not call them necessary.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

#4 norwaystar06

norwaystar06

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 January 2021 - 07:22 PM