•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Angled eastward?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 daveCC

daveCC

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 January 2021 - 03:59 AM

Hi,

I'm new at astronomy, and planning for photometry.  I have a 14 inch F8 on a fork mount from a promanent manufacturer.  This mounts performance is completely unacceptable.  The sky view from my pier is 110 degrees east to west.  I will replace this fork mount with a GEM, and keep the OTA.  The AP1100 GTO will track very, very far past the meridian such that meridian flips will never be needed.  Alternative mounts such as My-T and GM2000 only track for two hours past the meridian, but may be more easily obtained.  Performing a flip to access that last hour of sky view available to me seems unlikely to occur because I'm lazy and it's cold outside.

The question is:

If I choose to use one of these non-AP1100 mounts and...

If I were to fabricate a tilt-plate such that the north-south axis remained properly level, while the east west axis was tilted 30 degrees downward toward the west, it seems the mounts mechanical as-designed 'meridian position' would shift two hours eastward, the same, and the sky-referenced post-meridian maximum travel would now be two hours further west, four hours total past the local actual meridian.  The mount would now aim at the actual meridian with the as-designed gearing engaged 30 degrees eastward of the designer-anticipated 'meridian' position.

I've never owned a GEM.  I think this will work buy I am curious if I've overlooked some mechanical, geometric, polar alignment, or software/control feature that would cause this setup to fail, leaving me with just another stupid mistake.

Please share your comments with me.

Thanks,  Dave

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Soyuz

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland