•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New to EAA - Focal Reducer question - Celestron f/6.3 diameter 2"?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tedc99

tedc99

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Menifee, CA

Posted 18 January 2021 - 11:52 PM

I just started reading about EAA a few weeks ago and specifically this forum. Thanks to all for the great information here!

Even though I have been observing for almost 35 years (my first telescope was a Meade SCT 4" I bought in 1986), I am still mostly a beginner as I haven't had time to do more than occasionally set up my scope and also to show to friends. I bought a new Celestron NexStar 9.25" three years ago, standard equipment including alt-azimuth mount. I've really enjoyed it but I am still just an occasional and inexperienced observer.

After spending much time reading in this forum, I have decided on getting an ASI385MC camera and also a focus reducer and using them on my NexStar. I think this is all I need to get started and, though I use an iMac as my primary PC, I have an old Dell laptop that I plan to use for EAA, at least to begin with. I thought I would get the more expensive (also considered the GSO 0.5x reducer) Celestron f/6.3 reducer but I am now confused by the listed diameter size for the Celestron. As my star diagonal and eyepieces are all 1.25", would I now need any other equipment to work with the Celestron reducer as it is listed at 2" diameter? The GSO is 1.25". I feel like this is something I should now as I have owned a telescope for 35 years but I am use to just attaching the 1.25" star diagonal (for both of my telescopes) and then using 1.25" eyepieces. 

Any info is greatly appreciated,

Ted

#2 jallbery

jallbery

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Southeast Michigan

Posted 19 January 2021 - 04:49 AM