Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

The Remote Control Observatory.

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 cardanoc

cardanoc

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2013

Posted 19 January 2021 - 10:21 AM

Hi,

 

I tried a setup with:

  • a windows v10 running TeamViewer in my observatory (about 60 ft away)
  • a windows v7   running TeamViewer in my house
  • I used the latest version of TeamViewer on both machines

 

TeamViewer repeated froze up.  The setup just did not work.  I got rid of it.

 

I am looking into alternatives.

 

Any anyone used a "wireless USB hub"?  

  • I would have the scope and camera connect to one wireless USB hub in the observatory, and
  • have my pc connected to the other wireless USB hub in my house.

Any other suggestions?  The weather is getting cold and I would like to work inside.

 

Thanks



#2 Couder

Couder

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 879
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2014
  • Loc: Mansfield, Missouri in the Ozarks

Posted 19 January 2021 - 10:25 AM

Try the simplest thing - remote desktop. Go to network neighborhood, right click on the computer you want to connect with, and select remote desktop. I use it all the time, no extra software required.



#3 Cfreerksen

Cfreerksen

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,432
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2018
  • Loc: Tooele, Ut

Posted 19 January 2021 - 10:29 AM

I had many problems with wifi and only a fairly short distance. I use TVNC for remote access. I use this to my remote system. It has been extremely reliable and fast. It is no longer available but Ubiquiti has several solutions for long distance wireless.

 

https://www.amazon.c...e?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

Chris



#4 moxican

moxican

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 917
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Toronto, Canada

Posted 19 January 2021 - 11:03 AM

Plus one for VNC. I have been using it for over a year now with no issues whatsoever. Once you set it up it is good to go.



#5 Raginar

Raginar

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9,704
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Pensacola, FL

Posted 28 January 2021 - 03:27 PM

Hi,

 

I tried a setup with:

  • a windows v10 running TeamViewer in my observatory (about 60 ft away)
  • a windows v7   running TeamViewer in my house
  • I used the latest version of TeamViewer on both machines

 

TeamViewer repeated froze up.  The setup just did not work.  I got rid of it.

 

I am looking into alternatives.

 

Any anyone used a "wireless USB hub"?  

  • I would have the scope and camera connect to one wireless USB hub in the observatory, and
  • have my pc connected to the other wireless USB hub in my house.

Any other suggestions?  The weather is getting cold and I would like to work inside.

 

Thanks

Splashtop works good. WIreless USB doesn't work very well (Icron Ranger's were the only ones I've ever seen work).  You need a computer in the observatory and then remote into it.

 

Chris


Edited by Raginar, 28 January 2021 - 03:28 PM.


#6 DMRandall

DMRandall

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2008

Posted 29 January 2021 - 09:41 AM

I use Real VNC between my observatory computers and my indoor computers.  The only thing missing is robust file transfer (my observatory is a 90 minute drive from my indoor computer location).  For file transfer, I like TeamViewer, but understand if it's not working for your. 

 

Remote desktop is a good option, I agree especially since you're close to the other system and they're both on the same network.



#7 SimonIRE

SimonIRE

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,073
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2018
  • Loc: South East England

Posted 31 January 2021 - 12:28 PM

I’m not sure if this is possible for you but having a hardline to your observatory in my opinion is essential.

I don’t even rely on WiFi within my observatory. All mission critical kit is hard wired to the router. This includes a PC on top of the scope.

#8 kathyastro

kathyastro

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,865
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2016
  • Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 31 January 2021 - 12:47 PM

I use wired ethernet to my observatory.  I have a Wifi router out there, in case I have guests that want internet access while out in my field.  But all my remote operations are wired.


  • Scott123 likes this

#9 PeteM

PeteM

    Mercury-Atlas

  • -----
  • Posts: 2,784
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Southwest Michigan

Posted 31 January 2021 - 03:58 PM

Another advocate for a wired LAN line out to the observatory. Ideally buried, but considering it is winter and the ground might be frozen, you can get by with letting the cat5e/6 cable lay on the ground if that isn't an issue with pets/people. I am doing that until spring arrives and zero issues over many imaging sessions.



#10 Joshuasnoesky

Joshuasnoesky

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2018
  • Loc: Almere, The Netherlands, Europe

Posted 31 January 2021 - 04:25 PM

Wired internet in my Obsy and connection thru Anydesk. Never had any problems.



#11 Corpze

Corpze

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2015
  • Loc: Sweden

Posted 02 February 2021 - 01:25 AM

I have a 1000gbit Ethernet connection to my observatory, about 20 meters from my house and running Teamviewer on a windows 10 pro machine, have run it for three years without any hickup. I believe the cable is mandatory to get good and stable connections.

/Daniel




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics