•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Fornax LighTrack II vs Star Adventurer Pro

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Reece

Reece

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 January 2021 - 01:43 PM

Hello,

I am new to astrophotography and am trying to begin at a reasonable cost.

I have seen the Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer Pro recommended in many threads on CloudyNights.com and am wondering how it compares to the Fornax LighTrack II. It seems from what I have read that the Fornax LighTrack II mount has a lower periodic error although it is considerably more expensive if Fornax brand matching accessories are purchased for it.

Would it be reasonable to purchase the base Fornax LighTrack II mount and pair it with Sky-Watcher polar scope and Sky-Watcher equatorial wedge? 

Thank you so much for helping a newbie! 

Edited by Reece, 19 January 2021 - 01:49 PM.

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 19 January 2021 - 01:50 PM

There's no bad choice there.

But, a _lot_ more people use the Star Adventurer, so you have a much bigger user base to consult if you have issues.  At least in the US, probably elsewhere.

Why I bought a CEM60 mount instead of a Vixen SXD2.

Mixing things from two different manufacturers leaves you nowhere to turn if you have issues.  One thing I know about DSO AP.  There are issues.  <smile>

Bottom line.  I recommend just going with the Star Adventurer.  It works.  I like things that work.  <smile>

Edited by bobzeq25, 19 January 2021 - 01:51 PM.

• Jim Waters, limeyx and Reece like this

#3 qswat72

qswat72

Mariner 2

Posted 19 January 2021 - 02:04 PM

I’d also recommend the SA. Been using one the past few months now and have had a great experience. I’d be happy to answer any questions about the mount!
  • Reece likes this

#4 Haukka

Haukka

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Luxembourg