•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Why won't bias frames calibrate?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 sdeming

sdeming

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Charlotte, North Carolina - USA

Posted 19 January 2021 - 02:05 PM

I realize I'm abusing this forum, since this is my third post just today, but I am new at this and being here has helped tremendously in fixing issues and learning new and better ways of doing things. I'm eternally grateful to all who have helped!

So, here's my question - Why won't my bias frames calibrate in Deep Sky Stacker? I've tried everything. I know my bias frames and master are correct. I even created new frames over the weekend. I covered the camera, set the temp to -15 which is where I am always shooting (and I know setting the temp isn't necessary) and I set the gain at the same gain as my lights. Then, I shoot at the fastest possible exposure. When I bring them into DSS it ALWAYS creates a posterized image, like the one below. I want to add bias frames, but have been unable to do so. Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Scott

Attached Thumbnails

• CT stacked with bias jpeg resized.jpg

#2 David Boulanger

David Boulanger

Vostok 1

• Loc: Naples, Florida

Posted 19 January 2021 - 02:23 PM

What camera?  I think I have read that some cameras require a slightly longer exposure.  Not 100% sure on that though.

#3 sdeming

sdeming

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 January 2021 - 02:43 PM

What camera?  I think I have read that some cameras require a slightly longer exposure.  Not 100% sure on that though.

QHY294C

#4 colinrm

colinrm

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Akron, Ohio

Posted 19 January 2021 - 03:08 PM