•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Diagonal trouble with Jason 311

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jkd

jkd

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 January 2021 - 09:20 PM

Hi there,

I've been getting my wife's old Jason 311 telescope working, with new pieces of equipment replacing eyepieces etc. that I lost the originals for.  I'm a beginner at this and mainly wanted to be able to share seeing some events with my kids that they were excited about.

I got some parts that work together for direct viewing, but I'd really like to get a diagonal working to make it more comfortable.  I've got the original .965" diagonal, but each configuration I try it in, I can't pull the focuser tube in far enough to get a clear view.

I'm just trying to view the moon, and I can get a clear direct view without the diagonal.  I like the idea of getting new use out of a childhood telescope, so I was hoping to make the Jason work.  At the same time, I wanted to try and spend money only on new 1.25" parts rather than .965" parts, so they'd be useful for other telescopes. 

Can someone suggest what I might try next?

Here's the parts and configurations I've tried:

EP=Svbony 23mm 1.25"
AD=Astromania .965" to 1.25" adapter
DG=Original Jason .965" diagonal
FT=Focuser tube .965"
BL=1.5x lens element from Svbony 2x Barlow Lens 1.25"

EP-AD-DG-FT - Can't move focuser inward far enough to focus

EP-BL-AD-DG-FT - Same, can't move focuser inward far enough, BL didn't make a difference

Should I try a 1.25" diagonal instead?  It sounded like that might make the inward travel problem worse.

Or should I get a diagonal adapter to replace both parts and shorten the path that way?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jim

#2 ryanr256

ryanr256

Messenger

• Loc: Southwest Ohio

Posted 19 January 2021 - 11:44 PM