•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need Simple, Cheap Elemental Imaging Equipment For Star Testing

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Tom Duncan

Tom Duncan

Surveyor 1

• Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Chico, CA

Posted 20 January 2021 - 01:37 PM

As a vendor I would like to be able to take quick and easy images of star tests, mainly to be able to show what I'm talking about when discussing scope issues here in the forums. This will make my postings easier to understand and take any 70-year old eye issues out of the equation.

I have zero experience with astroimaging and have no desire to learn any more than the bare minimum to achieve my ends and also to spend as little as possible. 

Can anyone recommend a cheap, easy solution? I've done the 'hold the cell phone to the eyepiece' but it doesn't work very well, the image is usually over-exposed and it's cumbersome. I've also tried a few clamp-on camera holders but again, awkward and cumbersome. Ideally what I'm looking for is an eyepiece substitute with a small screen for composing and adjusting exposure and a button to press to record to an SD card...does such a device exist? 

Thanks

Tom Duncan 

Moderator: Please move this post if you feel there is a better place for it.

#2 mikefulb

mikefulb

Surveyor 1

Posted 20 January 2021 - 01:47 PM

You might be able to do this with a DSLR and appropriate barlow/powermate depending on the telescope you are testing.  I know people are able to record video of planets for post-processing using DSLRs so it seems it would work.

#3 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 20 January 2021 - 01:50 PM

Have a DSLR?  That's the simplest, easiest solution.

You connect to the telescope with this, or something very much like that.

https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B013DN90EM/

Another one.

https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B0114CGRP4/