•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help with framing and other dumb questions

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 PrisonMike

PrisonMike

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 January 2021 - 09:13 PM

Ok so I'm still new to astrophotography and getting familiar with my heq5 and redcat. Getting better at polar alignment and im able to get up to 4 minute exposures with no star trails still with no guiding. My first dumb question is after i star align and slew to my target i usually check something that i can see easily on the live view like orion nebula so i know that its centered after alignment. Its always dead center so ill slew to my target such as m31 take a 90 second test shot to make sure im still centered and itll be centered but more towards the top of the frame. So what is my next step after this, if i recenter it with the hand controller will the mount just start tracking that as the new coordinates or do i have to start my star alignment process over. i know its a dumb question but i still have no idea what im doing sorry

#2 jonnybravo0311

jonnybravo0311

Viking 1

• Loc: NJ, US

Posted 21 January 2021 - 09:20 PM

Not sure what mount you've got... so I'll tell you how I do it with my CEM40 using just the hand controller... no guiding, no plate solving.

1. Do a good, accurate polar alignment. With the CEM40, I can just use iPolar. Typically, I use SharpCap Pro. This is the only step requiring a laptop (unless you are using a dedicated cam from ZWO, QHY, etc or a program like BackyardEOS).
  2. With the hand controller do a 1, 2 or 3 star alignment depending on how accurate you want it.
  3. Slew to your intended target.
  4. Is it centered? If yes, you're done.
  5. If not centered, use the hand controller to perform a sync.
  6. Use the arrow keys to center your target.
  7. Confirm it's synced.