•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advice on Beginner telescope (Dobsonion 8 inch vs 127 mm cassegrain)

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 vkpradeep

vkpradeep

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 January 2021 - 07:04 PM

Hi - I am new to Astronomy and was planning to get a good beginner telescope for viewing planets & deep sky objects. After some research, I have landed on couple of options:

1. Apertura AD8 Dobsoinion : https://www.highpoin...n-telescope-ad8
  2. Celestron Nexstar 127 cassegrain : https://www.highpoin...telescope-22097

I have heard that dobsonion with 8 inch reflector has better light gathering capability, however celestron has a computerrised goto mount and larger focal length.

Just wondering how the cassegrain compares to the Dobsonion.  I have tried "how" the views may look using stellarium and could not tell much difference. 

I wanted to get some advice from the forum / members who have experience using either of these scopes. 

Thanks in advance for your comments / feedback.

Pradeep

#2 Maritime

Maritime

Viking 1

Posted 23 January 2021 - 07:22 PM

I can’t compare them BUT the 127slt, of my four scopes, is a favorite. The mount is very accurate and the optics first rate BUT the tripod is a shaky nightmare. I found a used 4/5se tripod, which is rock stable, and only paid $60. The tube never needs collimating and the views are beautiful. Keep in mind it is a right hand mount, which is a minor issue if you use another mount, but I love and highly recommend it. 

#3 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Voyager 1

Posted 23 January 2021 - 07:31 PM