•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron 9.25 EdgeHD and Poorly Designed Focus Motor Mounting Plate

Celestron accessories equipment
  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 jtbrower

jtbrower

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: North Texas

Posted 23 January 2021 - 08:07 PM

Introduction

Hello Everyone, my name is Jason.  This is my first time posting on CN and admittedly I am also new to backyard astronomy / astrophotography.  Being a double newbie sure begs the question, am I qualified to make a bold statement such as "poorly designed focus motor mounting plate"?

Although this wonderful hobby is new to me, I have over 20 years of Software Engineering experience, half of that with companies that manufacture in-house devices. I have enough of a mechanical aptitude to have rebuilt cars, engines and just about anything I can get away with taking apart.  That said, my newness to this industry has me turning to this forum to see if anyone else has noticed what I have noticed.  I think these design flaws might be causing some of the issues I have seen others speak about in other online places.

The Equipment

I bought a new 9 1/4 EdgeHD along with plenty accessories including the Celestron focus motor.  I figured what good is it to remotely control a telescope if you cannot remotely control the focus?

Considering the scope and add-on focus motor are both manufactured by Celestron, I didn't expect to find the issues I am seeing.  Although I overlaid text descriptions of the issues on the included images, I will describe the problem in text so the search engines can index the problem.  I only have experience with the 9.25, I am willing to bet the same problem might apply to smaller sized scopes that use the same focus motor mounting plate.

Problem #1

Background