•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Automatic, not electric, focusing assistance for Disabled

beginner cassegrain Celestron equipment SCT
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Notdarkenough

Notdarkenough

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 January 2021 - 08:11 AM

Hello all. Another stinkin’ newbie here. I have the 60th Anniversary NexStar Evolution EdgeHD 8 SCT, and added the Focus Motor from Celestron. I still need something to help me achieve focus. For background, I am a Disabled Veteran. The first problem we found was my lack of fine-motor control, and the electric focus motor is wonderful for mitigating that difficulty. However, the injury to my brain also impacted my eyes' ability to track movement; watching the image adjust while trying to focus is problematic. Is there some piece of equipment that can actually achieve rough focus automatically? I am a visual observer, no photography. Does anyone know of anything that might fit the requirement? Thank you for sharing your hard-won expertise on this site. Mike

#2 imtl

imtl

Mercury-Atlas

• Moderators
  • Loc: Down in a hole

Posted 24 January 2021 - 08:18 AM

Hi Mike,

Welcome to CN and thank you for sharing your story.

Going with a motorized focuser is a good way to go. Are you using a bahtinov mask to focus? It might be easier for your eyes to track the changes in focus with the bahtinov spikes.

• Dynan likes this

#3 Notdarkenough

Notdarkenough

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 January 2021 - 08:55 AM

No, no use of the masks. I looked the Bahtinov up, but don't understand how it would interact with the motor. I have my input (tablet or HC) and my eyeball at the eyepiece. Thanks for getting this post in the right place. Mike

#4 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

Gemini

• Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 24 January 2021 - 11:21 AM