•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Have the scope....time for eyepiece help

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 mayhem13

mayhem13

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 January 2021 - 06:44 PM

So I’ll introduce myself again.....newbie here just purchased and broke first light with a 12” DOB and I’m hooked! We viewed Mercury, Mars and the Moon first night. The seller through in a bonus eyepiece to get me started.....a Zoom with range from 7-25mm. Eye relief was comfortable enough. So what next as far as eyepieces?.....or should I ask the question in the specific forum? I’m learning in my Bortle 8 backyard for now but plan on heading out to a Bortle 2-3 site soon as the weather breaks.

• Avgvstvs likes this

#2 sevenofnine

sevenofnine

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Santa Rosa, California

Posted 24 January 2021 - 07:01 PM

If the zoom is comfortable to use and you are satisfied with the view then supplement it with a wide angle eyepiece. The flood gates will open with suggestions on this forum lol.gif but generally something in a 2 inch 28mm-35mm is recommended. Go slow with the purchases. It's easy to fall down the eyepiece rabbit hole moneyeyes.gif

• esd726 and Avgvstvs like this

#3 Avgvstvs

Avgvstvs

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 24 January 2021 - 07:09 PM

I think a good range would be 30, 20, 14, 9mm

Starting with low power. And go for 68 to 82 degree's

Once you get out of the toilet roll field of view of your zoom

you will probably never look back. Investing in quality eyepieces is always a good move.

You may change your telescopes, but a great eyepiece lasts forever

#4 Jethro7

Jethro7

Surveyor 1

• Loc: N.W. Florida

Posted 24 January 2021 - 07:12 PM