•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

CEM40 Tripod options?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 IllustriousOne

IllustriousOne

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 January 2021 - 10:08 PM

I bought a used ioptron CEM40 off ebay without the counterweight shaft or tripod. I am having zero luck finding the missing parts in stock.
I am very new to all of this so I may be missing something obvious.
Are the tripods some sort of proprietary sort of mount / connection or can I use a different brand of tripod to connect my unit? If so, what am I looking for here?
I have reached out to ioptron for the counterweight shaft, but surly there are none ioptron options for that as well?

#2 rhart426

rhart426

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Southeastern Pennsylvania

Posted 24 January 2021 - 11:09 PM

Tripods tend to be proprietary, but you can work around it easily enough with an adapter plate.  One side fits the tripod, other side fits the mount.  Depending on what you're working with dealers may have a solution in stock, or you may have to have something custom made.  I believe TPI will do custom jobs, but don't quote me on that; shouldn't be hard to find others.

Since you're using the CEM40, I'll put in a plug for the iOptron tri-pier.  It's quite sturdy and does a great job elevating the scope above the tripod legs, meaning I have to try pretty hard to crash the scope into them.  Kinda expensive but worth it!

#3 Cfreerksen

Cfreerksen

Apollo

• Loc: Tooele, Ut

Posted 24 January 2021 - 11:45 PM

Ioptron tri-pier will work for your CEM40. I used mine for the CEM40 I have when I pulled my CEM60 For a clean and lube. A fairly rigid unit.

Chris

#4 adosaj

adosaj

Lift Off

• ****-

Posted 24 January 2021 - 11:48 PM