•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best eyepiece for viewing planets on a 10" Meade LX2000 Classic

beginner eyepieces
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 SDAngler

SDAngler

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: San Diego, CA - USA

Posted 25 January 2021 - 06:59 PM

I am new to astronomy and have recently purchased a used Meade 10" LX200 Classic SCT f/10 and a 2" diagonal.  Could I get suggestions for the best, but not costing an arm and a leg, eyepiece(s) for viewing Jupiter and Saturn.  I am 58 years old and wear glasses, but don't mind taking them off when observing.  I live in the suburbs of a large city, so if I need some sort of filter, please suggest if applicable.  I know nothing, so please keep it simple.  I'd like suggestions for things I can find on CN or that other site's classified - when possible.

• Defenderslideguitar likes this

#2 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Voyager 1

Posted 25 January 2021 - 07:17 PM

The good news is you have lots of time. You won’t be able to see Jupiter and Saturn for months.

13, 10 and 8 would be a good planetary spread. Or something close to those. A zoom could be an option.

Scott
  • SDAngler likes this

#3 vtornado

vtornado

Gemini

• Loc: Northern Illinois

Posted 25 January 2021 - 07:28 PM

Hello Ken and welcome to cloudy nights.

I assume that this telescope has working tracking, if so you don't need a wide field eyepieces.

Sometimes glasses wearers can get away with short focal length eyepieces.  Refractive errors can be

fixed with the  focuser.   At high power viewing of planets,  eyeball astigmatism is minimized.

As far as focal length goes, I think the best views of planets is around an exit pupil of 1mm which means around a

focal length of about 10mm.   However because of the aperture of your telescope, this also yields a magnification