Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

autoStar/audiosStar hand controller has no real time clock?

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 david young

david young

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2005
  • Loc: TX

Posted 27 January 2021 - 12:02 AM

I have a stupid question: Does the hand box run a RTC? Do I have to input time and date each every turn on? Does the time critical for the goto function?

 

Thanks in advance,

David



#2 david young

david young

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2005
  • Loc: TX

Posted 27 January 2021 - 12:18 AM

I got the answer from Andrew, he is the best!

 

Thanks everyone on CN!

Daivd



#3 sg6

sg6

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9,959
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2010
  • Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 27 January 2021 - 03:38 AM

For anyone else: No, they never have had in my experience.

Maybe one of the big SCT's had/have but not aware of one.

 

Think the idea was that it meant you didn't have a reason to start pulling bits off and poking around inside.

Also one bit less to go wrong - moisture and corrosion of the battery and terminals.

Possibly someone thought that people would be quite capable of entering the time themselves.

 

Sometimes you get the idea they got the last one wrong.

 

Does say, I think, in the manual somewhere that the handset will default to 20:00 and that you have to enter your exact time manually.

 

Guess it could have been the choice between people complaining of having to enter the time, and the scope battery failing when out observing and so losing a complete night. And then having to go buy a battery.



#4 michael8554

michael8554

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 491
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2020
  • Loc: Wiltshire UK

Posted 27 January 2021 - 08:22 AM

Including a circuit that is accurate to 1 second year in year out would be expensive ?

 

The Meade GPS mounts get the time and date from the GPS.



#5 Geo.

Geo.

    Vendor - Nexstar Parts

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5,496
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 28 January 2021 - 01:47 PM

Not really. We use these $1.20 RTCs on most of the OnStep controller designs.

 

DS3231.jpg

 

They use a DS3231 IC with timekeeping accuracy ±5ppm (±0.432 Second/Day).



#6 Geo.

Geo.

    Vendor - Nexstar Parts

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5,496
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 28 January 2021 - 01:48 PM

Not really. We use these $1.20 RTCs on most of the OnStep controller designs.

 



#7 michael8554

michael8554

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 491
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2020
  • Loc: Wiltshire UK

Posted 29 January 2021 - 07:57 PM

Not really. We use these $1.20 RTCs on most of the OnStep controller designs. They use a DS3231 IC with timekeeping accuracy ±5ppm (±0.432 Second/Day).

So you rely on that and don't have to correct it ?

 

12 seconds out per month.

 

So you end up entering time manually again.

 

That's why most mounts don't have an onboard clock, instead many added GPS for time and location purposes.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics